The 6 Most Shockingly Irresponsible “Fitspiration” Photos

While there are a few swear words, this article very clearly highlights how advertising manipulates customers and legitimises the horrendous messages that they are actually putting across to society.

Reembody

The Reembody blog, up to this point, has been a thoughtful exploration of human movement, a subject about which I am extremely passionate.

Today, however, I’m mad and I’m going to tell you why.

I have been planning a blog post for a while on fitness misinformation, and it was originally going to be the same kind of thoughtful deconstruction found in my other installments. But then I read this and it was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever found in my newsfeed: so beautiful, in fact, that the rest of the health and fitness propaganda floating around Facebook like turds in a pool started to really, really piss me off.

So thoughtful deconstruction has been postponed for another day. Instead, we’re going to take a good look at a few of those turds and get pissed off together because, when someone preys upon your insecurities in an effort…

View original post 1,993 more words

One comment

  1. Yikes, these images and messages are really disturbing – definitely deserving of some well-judged swearing! I belong to a gym myself and I find some of the “inspirational” messages they use pretty uninspiring, e.g.:
    ‘Pain is just weakness leaving your body’:
    No! Pain is your body saying something bad is happening! Listen to the pain, and stop doing what’s causing it!
    I had forgotten about that until I read this – thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

