Sexism (and speciesism) in PETA!

Released into the public domain by PETA.

Released into the public domain by PETA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Released into the public domain by PETA.

Released into the public domain by PETA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hi there reader, I don’t know how to add a photo, otherwise there’d be a photo here of one of PETA’s e.g. Stop FUR campaigns with a mostly naked woman, or several mostly naked women, on a large billboard or some sort of social media. Just learned how to add a photo. There you go, please continue reading now…

This I find problematic and unhelpful to animals for a number of reasons. By animals I mean human animals as well as nonhuman ones.

So, I don’t like how their campaigns cause women to be viewed as things, as objects that are there for men to treat however they please. It basically turns a person, with feelings, goals and thoughts, into a sex toy that’s fun to look at. (Notice: ‘that’ instead of ‘who’, since this woman’s reduced to a thing).

However, then I noticed there are pictures of naked men too, which got me thinking, because does this mean men are objectified and further exploited because of it? Frankly, not really. I have concluded for now that because we live in a patriarchal society, this sort of thing doesn’t degrade men because society’s sexist attitudes target women more as men have already established themselves as more dominant so they can’t be objectified because of their nakedness on a billboard and people might even find this empowering for a man, with no negative consequences, and no one sexually harassing them, because the societal norm isn’t that men are property.

It’s that women are property.

That’s all of my thoughts for now. Now for some vegan thoughts, yay! I don’t like how PETA focuses on single issue campaigns like stopping fur when really, leather, wool and silk are no morally different. They all involve the objectification and death of sentient (pain feeling) beings which is in my view immoral. It makes people think that fur is worse and subsequently, that meat, dairy, leather and wool (and other animal products) are fine. I don’t like how they spend sooooo much time and money on a problematic single issue (arguably sexist) campaign that could otherwise have been spent on a vegan campaign which would’ve targeted the root of the speciesism tree instead of hacking at one of the branches. This campaign misses the point: why are we using animals at all in the first place? And it perpetuates the notion that women are property, so it’s perpetuating sexism and speciesism which is the opposite of what I’d think an “animal group” would be doing.

Note: Check out the related article below!

4 comments

  1. The difference in visual style between the two posters is very striking!

  2. Absolutely! This is true throughout naked media I find, the man is always depicted as humourous/confident as opposed to completely sexualised. And I have something very interesting I was talking to my friend about that I’d like to discuss tomorrow if possible!

  3. […] Sexism (and speciesism) in PETA! (mediasexismandsocialaction.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Hi, thank you so much for sharing this! I think more people need to read this information so I appreciate you sharing this. The only thing is that it was my friend and fellow animal advocate who wrote this incredible article. Her blog is http://www.veganrabbit.com.

Leave a Reply

